Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) became the first Norwegian to win Milan-San Remo by out sprinting Fabian Cancellara and Ben Swift at the end of a rain soaked race.

The days break went early in the race with Antonio Parrinello, Nathan Haas, Jan Barta, Nicola Boem, Matteo Bono, Marc de Maar and Maarten Tjallingii opening up a gap that stayed at over six minutes with 70km remaining, losing only Haas to a puncture and Boem who fell off the pace. Nathan Haas later posted this interesting tweet on the secret to making the break.


With 30km to go Vicenzo Nibali (Astana) shot out of the bunch in pursuit of the remnants of the break who by this time were down to two men, de Maar and Tjallingii. Nibali crested the Cipressa only ten seconds down and then quickly joined them on the descent. The bunch of 60 riders was 30 seconds back.

Nibali started the ascent of the Poggio alone, Gregory Rast bridged up then rode past Nibali, then Gilbert attacked reeling in Rast. One of the top favourites, John Degenkolb unluckily punctured near the base of the climb. There was a couple of counter attacks on the descent of the Poggio but the group was all together with 2km to the finish.

Katsuha led under the 1km to go flame rouge with Sagan, 2009 winner Mark Cavendish and Cancellara all near the front. In the final straight Mark Cavendish went early, then faded and was passed by Kristoff who took the win for Katusha. Cancellara took another second place and Cavendish came in fifth. Last years winner Gerald Ciolek finished in ninth place

This is the biggest victory I could imagine. It is the victory that saved my career,” Kristoff

While the beaten Cancellara had this to say “I’m disappointed but satisfied; Sanremo was the usual lottery and I didn’t want to make the same mistakes as previous years when they hemmed me in and I lost my cool. I didn’t make any mistakes. I know I came second, but someone else was faster than me”.

Watch the final moments of the 2014 Milan-San Remo below and an interview with Alexander Kristoff (via Cyclingnews)

Results below video

Results of the 2014 Milan-San Remo – Top 50

Place Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha 6:55:56
2 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing
3 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky
4 Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Movistar Team
5 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team
6 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF
7 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team
8 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
9 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN – Qhubeka
10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale
11 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Garmin Sharp
12 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Team Sky
13 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team
14 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Garmin Sharp
15 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
16 Yoann Offredo (Fra)
17 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
18 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo
19 Grégory Rast (Swi) Trek Factory Racing
20 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing
21 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling
22 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida
23 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol
24 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol
25 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
26 Alexandre Pichot (Fra) Team Europcar 0:00:06
27 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Garmin Sharp 0:00:07
28 Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:34
29 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky
30 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida 0:00:40
31 Thomas Leezer (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:00:54
32 Nicki Sörensen (Den) Tinkoff-Saxo
33 Luca Paolini (Ita) Team Katusha 0:01:12
34 Arnaud Demare (Fra) 0:01:22
35 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol
36 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Yellow Fluo
37 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:01:33
38 Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team 0:01:35
39 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 0:01:54
40 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:09
41 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:02:38
42 Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Belisol
43 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:03:14
44 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:03:15
45 Jan Bakelants (Bel) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team
46 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Cannondale
47 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:22
48 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:03:36
49 Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica GreenEdge 0:03:50
50 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN – Qhubeka 0:04:10

Image Source via

Race report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here