The Ardennes classics continue with La Flèche Wallonne on Wednesday, it’s the first of the two Belgian Ardennes classics. This year the race will start in Bastogne to mark the 70th anniversary of the Battle of the Bulge in World War ll, which centred around the Wallonia town.

The race whose name is French for “The Walloon Arrow” has a rich history having been run since 1936 and generally been in the midweek slot between the Amstel Gold Race and Liège–Bastogne–Liège although in earlier years the two Belgian races were held on successive days on the weekend.

Due to it’s midweek date the race is only 201km long but features three ascents of the Mur de Huy which will favour riders like last years winner Daniel Moreno, Philippe Gilbert and Alejandro Valverde. Cadel Evans is the only Australian to have won La Flèche Wallonne but he won’t be riding in this years race.

The Course

The race starts in Bastogne this year which is normally the turning point for the Liège–Bastogne–Liège, the race heads across the Belgian Ardennes and finishes on the Mur de Huy.

La Flèche Wallonne Map

La Fleche Wallonne course map
La Fleche Wallonne course map

La Flèche Wallonne Profile

2014 La Fleche Wallone profile
2014 La Fleche Wallone profile


La Flèche Wallonne was created to boost the sales of a newspaper Les Sports during the 1930s and was first run in 1936, the first race was won by Belgian Philippe Demeersman. As normal for a Belgian classic, Belgian riders have won most of the 77 races to date having won 38 races.

Eddy Merckx heads up the most winners list with three wins and tied on the same number are Marcel Kint from Belgium, and Italians Moreno Argentin and Davide Rebellin. Daniel Moreno of Spain won last years race.

Climbs of La Flèche Wallonne

Km 84.0 – Côte de Bellaire1 km climb to 6.8%
Km 101.0 – Côte d’Ahin2.1 km climb to 5.9%
Km 111.5 – Mur de Huy (1 pass)1.3 km climb to 9.3%
Km 124.5 – Côte d’Ereffe2.2 km climb to 5.9%
Km 143.5 – Côte de Bellaire1 km climb to 6.8%
Km 151.0 – Côte de Bohisseau1.3 km climb to 7.6%
Km 154.0 – Côte de Bousalle1.7 km climb at 4.9%
Km 165.0 – Côte d’Ahin2.1 km climb to 5.9%
Km 175.5 – Mur de Huy (2nd pass)1.3 km climb to 9.3%
Km 188.5 – Côte d’Ereffe2.2 km climb to 5.9%
Km 199.0 – Mur de Huy1.3 km climb to 9.3%

Last years 2013 La Fleche Wallone results

1. Daniel MORENO FERNANDEZ, Katusha, in 4:52:33
2. Sergio Luis HENAO MONTOYA, Sky, at :03
3. Carlos Alberto BETANCUR GOMEZ, Ag2r La Mondiale, at :03
4. Daniel MARTIN, Garmin-Sharp, at :03
5. Michal KWIATKOWSKI, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, at :03
6. Joaquin RODRIGUEZ OLIVER, Katusha, at :08
7. Alejandro VALVERDE BELMONTE, Movistar, at :08
8. Igor ANTON HERNANDEZ, Euskaltel-Euskadi, at :08
9. Bauke MOLLEMA, Blanco, at :08
10. Rinaldo NOCENTINI, Ag2r La Mondiale, at :08
11. Giampaolo CARUSO, Katusha, at :08
12. Peter SAGAN, Cannondale, at :08
13. Diego ULISSI, Lampre-Merida, at :13
14. Tom Jelte SLAGTER, Blanco, at :13
15. Philippe GILBERT, BMC Racing, at :15
16. Tony GALLOPIN, RadioShack-Leopard, at :17
17. Roman KREUZIGER, Saxo-Tinkoff, at :17
18. Arthur VICHOT, FDJ, at :21
19. Ryder HESJEDAL, Garmin-Sharp, at :23
20. Paul MARTENS, Blanco, at :23

You can watch the race on Eurosport starting at 10pm AEST. Join The Bike Lane on Twitter at #FlecheWallonne

Featured Image and course maps credit – Official Site


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here