Brennauer wins Aviva womens tour

Lisa Brennauer (Velocio-SRAM) has won the 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour by six seconds from Jolien D’hoore (Wiggle Honda) with Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) finishing third overall. Brennauer’s Velocio-SRAM team held off all the attacks of the final days stage to place Brennauer fourth to wrap up the title.

“This tour is one of the biggest events on the women’s calendar, so this victory means a lot to me,” said Brennauer. “It was a great victory for me, but also for the whole team. It wasn’t easy today — a tough stage with all the hills and a lot of hard attacks.

How the race unfolded

The 2015 Aviva Women’s got underway with Stage 1 starting in Bury St Edmonds and finishing at Aldeburgh after 110.2km of racing. A group of five riders Marta Tagliaferro (Alé-Cipollini), Coryn Rivera (UnitedHealthcare), Elinor Barker (Matrix Pro Cycling), Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi) and Katie Hall (UnitedHealthcare) had a break of up to 2.45 at one point in the stage before the peloton started reeling them back in. Archibald was dropped on the final climb and the peloton caught the remaining riders inside the final km. Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) won the stage but had an accident immediately after the finish line, Armitstead was taken to hospital and would not start stage 2. Lisa Brennauer (Velocio – SRAM) finished second ahead of Emma Johansson (Orica – AIS).

Stage 2 was 138km long starting in Braintree and finishing at Clacton. Elise Delzenne (Velocio-SRAM) and Corinna Lechner (German National Team) finally established a break and got out to a two minute lead over the peloton. The Peloton took control of the race again about 5km from the stage finish with the sprinters lead out trains moving to the front, Jolien D’Hoore (Wiggle Honda) won from Lisa Brennauer with Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) third. With Lizzie Armitstead not starting the stage Brennauer wore the leaders jersey and she retained that with her second place today.

Stage 3 at 138.3km was the longest of the Aviva Women’s Tour, starting in Oundle and finishing at Kettering. Luxembourg national road champion, Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) shook up the general classification winning the stage by 2 seconds from Barbara Guarischi (Velocio – SRAM) and Lucy Garner (Team Liv-Plantur) with previous leader Lisa Brennauer finishing sixth on the stage. Majerus now lead the race by 3 seconds from Jolien D’Hoore with Brennauer 1 second further back.

Stage 4 started from Waltham Cross and finished in Stevenage, covering 103.8km. Lisa Brennauer took back the overall lead with a stage victory in the rain, out sprinting Emma Johansson and Lotta Lepistö (Bigla Pro Cycling Team). Brennauer will take a lead of 9 seconds into Sunday’s final stage over second place, Christine Majerus. Jolien D’Hoore is third, 1 second further back and Emma Johansson is forth another 1 second back.

Stage 5 102.6km Marlow – Hemel Hempstead. The final stage was run on narrow undulating roads and an early break of four riders gained over a minute on the peloton, a larger group gained some time as well before being pulled back before the sprint finish. Hannah Barnes (UnitedHealthcare) won the sprint from Jolien D’Hoore, with Simona Frapporti (Ale Cipollini) finishing third. Lisa Brennauer finished safely in fourth to wrap up the overall 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour. Australian Melissa Hoskins (Orica – AIS) won the mountains classification with Gracie Elvin (Orica – AIS) the highest overall placed Australian in 27th place.

Results – 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour

General Classification

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Velocio – SRAM,15:03:24
2,Jolien D’Hoore (Bel) Wiggle Honda,0:00:06
3,Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,0:00:07
4,Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica – Ais,0:00:13
5,Hannah Barnes (GBr) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team,0:00:14
6,Simona Frapporti (Ita) Ale Cipollini,0:00:26
7,Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies,0:00:29
8,Alexis Ryan (USA) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team,0:00:30
9,Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.89,
10,Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Ale Cipollini,
11,Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team,
12,Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies,
13,Lauren Stephens (USA) USA National Team,
14,Amalie Dideriksen (Den) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,
15,Lotta Lepistö (Fin) Bigla Pro Cycling Team,0:00:33,
16,Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Liv-Plantur,0:00:37,
17,Laura Trott (GBr) Matrix Fitness,
18,Maura Kinsella (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies,
19,Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,0:00:42
20,Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle Honda,
21,Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur,
22,Malgorzta Jasinska (Pol) Ale Cipollini,0:00:43
23,Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,0:00:44
24,Audrey Cordon (Fra) Wiggle Honda,
25,Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger) Team Liv-Plantur,0:00:45
26,Elise Delzenne (Fra) Velocio – SRAM,0:00:47
27,Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica – Ais,0:00:49
28,Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Velocio – SRAM,
29,Aude Biannic (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86,
30,Molly Weaver (GBr) Team Liv-Plantur,
31,Anouska Koster (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team,0:00:50
32,Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,0:00:51
33,Lucy Garner (GBr) Team Liv-Plantur,0:00:52
34,Trixi Worrack (Ger) Velocio – SRAM,0:00:55
35,Annie Ewart (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies,
36,Vera Koedooder (Ned) Bigla Pro Cycling Team,0:00:56
37,Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda,0:00:57
38,Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Velocio – SRAM,
39,Carlee Taylor (Aus) Lotto Soudal Ladies,0:01:00
40,Eugénie Duval (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.87,
41,Chloe Mcconville (Aus) Orica – Ais,0:01:04
42,Iris Slappendel (Ned) Bigla Pro Cycling Team,0:01:06
43,Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Germany,
44,Sharon Laws (GBr) Bigla Pro Cycling Team,
45,Uenia Fernandes Da Souza (Bra) Ale Cipollini,
46,Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Orica – Ais,
47,Ciara Horne (GBr) Pearl Izumi Sport Tours,0:01:07
48,Katie Hall (USA) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team,0:01:09
49,Danielle King (GBr) Wiggle Honda,
50,Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Germany,

Points Classification

#,Rider Name (Country) Team,Points,
1,Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Velocio – SRAM,56
2,Jolien D’Hoore (Bel) Wiggle Honda,42
3,Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica – Ais,42

Mountains Classification

#,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Orica – Ais,32
2,Elise Delzenne (Fra) Velocio – SRAM,29
3,Sharon Laws (GBr) Bigla Pro Cycling Team,15

Team Classification

#,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,45:11:44
2,Ale Cipollini,0:00:12
3,Wiggle Honda,0:00:14
4,Velocio SRAM,0:00:16
5,Team Liv Plantur,0:00:21


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here