Peter Sagan wins Gent-Wevelgem

Peter Sagan (Tinkoff Team) won Sunday’s Gent-Wevelgem ahead of Sep Vanmarcke (Team LottoNl-Jumbo) and Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Team Katusha) to win for the first time in the world champion jersey after an impressive run of second places this season.

Sagan was part of a four man breakaway that included Vanmarcke, Kuznetsov and Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo). Kuznetsov jumped early in the sprint but was caught by Sagan and then Vanmarcke, Cancellara was fourth after suffering with cramps at the end of the race.

Peter Sagan explained his Gent-Wevelgem win “Fabian went on the last climb and then we got in the break. I think the fans saw who were in the break. We worked together from the start,” he said. “We played with group a little. Then in the finale there was a strong wind and we did full gas all day. We went slow near the finish because we had a lot of time on group. Fabian after a lot of kilometres is fast, then they know I’m fast if I feel good. Today I was very, very good and so the win came.”

Antoine Demoitié (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) was rushed to hospital after falling and being struck by a motorbike, a team statement on twitter said Demoitié’s condition was extremely serious. Our thoughts are with Demoitié and family.

Results 2016 Gent-Wevelgem – Top 10

1. Peter SAGAN, Tinkoff Team, in 5:55:12
2. Sep VANMARCKE, Team LottoNl-Jumbo, at :00
3. Viacheslav KUZNETSOV, Team Katusha, at :00
4. Fabian CANCELLARA, Trek-Segafredo, at :00
5. Arnaud DEMARE, FDJ, at :11
6. Fernando GAVIRIA RENDON, Etixx – Quick Step, at :11
7. Jurgen ROELANDTS, Lotto Soudal, at :11
8. Jacopo GUARNIERI, Team Katusha, at :11
9. Greg VAN AVERMAET, BMC Racing Team, at :11
10. Michael MORKOV, Team Katusha, at :11

Nairo Quintana wins the 2016 Volta a Catalunya

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) won the seven stage Volta Ciclista a Catalunya ahead of Alberto Contador (Tinkoff Team) and Daniel Martin (Etixx-QuickStep). The overall win by Quintana was set up by a stage 4 attack where he gained valuable time over Contador and Richie Porte, Quintana held the gap until the final stage that was won by Aleksei Tsatevich (Team Katusha).

The Volta a Catalunya featured six of the top ten Tour de France favourites with Nairo Quintana, Chris Froome, Alberto Contador, Richie Porte, Tejay van Garderen and Fabio Aru all racing. Last year’s Tour de France winner Chris Froome was eighth.

Overall Top 10 of the 2016 Volta Ciclista a Catalunya

1. Nairo Quintana, Movistar in 30:50:19
2. Alberto Contador, Tinkoff at 7 secs
3. Daniel Martin, Etixx-QuickStep at 17 secs
4. Richie Porte, BMC Racing, st
5. Tejay van Garderen, BMC Racing at 27 secs
6. Romain Bardet, Ag2r at 31 secs
7. Ilnur Zakarin, Katusha at 42 secs
8. Chris Froome, Team Sky at 46 secs
9. Hugh Carthy, Caja Rural at 1-01
10. Rigoberto Uran, Cannondale Pro Cycling at 1-16

Chantal Blaak wins Women’s Gent-Wevelgem

The Boels-Dolmans team is proving to be unstoppable in the Women’s WorldTour taking their fourth win out of four this year with Dutch woman Chantal Blaak winning Sunday’s Gent-Wevelgem and taking over team mate Lizzie Armitstead’s position as leader or the Women’s WorldTour

Chantal Blaak winning the women's Gent-Wevelgem
Chantal Blaak winning the women’s Gent-Wevelgem – photo @SportivaInfos

Blaak made the winning move near the end of the race escaping with Emma Johansson (Wiggle-High5) and Annemiek van Vleuten (Orica-AIS) and then dropping the two to finish 1 minute and 24 seconds ahead of Lisa Brennauer (Canyon SRAM Racing) with Lucinda Brand (Rabobank-Liv) in third place. Sarah Roy (Orica-AIS) was the highest placed Australian in 14th place while Lizzie Armitstead was 17th.

Top 10 2016 Women’s Gent-Wevelgem

1. Chantal Blaak, Boels – Dolmans) in 2:56:00
2. Lisa Brennauer, Canyon SRAM Racing, at 1:24
3. Lucinda Brand, Rabobank-Liv
4. Amy Pieters, Wiggle High5
5. Carmen Small, Cervélo-Bigla
6. Annemiek van Vleuten, Orica – AIS
7. Leah Kirchmann, Team Liv-Plantur
8. Ellen van Dijk, Boels – Dolmans
9. Emma Johansson, Wiggle High5 at 1:27
10. Romy Kasper, Boels – Dolmans at 1:32

Michal Kwiatkowski wins E3 Harelbeke

Michal Kwiatkowski won his first race for Team Sky on Wednesday winning the E3 Harelbeke ahead of Peter Sagan (Tinkoff Team) with Team Sky’s Ian Stannard also finishing on the podium in third place.

Michal Kwiatkowski winning the 2016 E3 Harelbeke
Michal Kwiatkowski winning the 2016 E3 Harelbeke – photo via Team Sky

Kwiatkowski made the winning move with Sagan 30km from the finish and they held off a group of 13 chasing riders. Kwiatkowski jumped with 300 metres to go to take the win ahead of Sagan.

Immediately after the race Kwiatkowski said: “I was really motivated today and I did my best. I was perfectly protected by my team-mates, Ian Stannard was always there for me and then me and Peter worked together well. “We were in a similar position at Strade Bianche two years ago and that brought back memories for me. I knew I had really good legs today and I had to go for the win, there was no other option.

“Me and Peter did a really good race. I knew I had to go with a long sprint because his kick is bigger than mine, and that worked out. I didn’t look back and went full gas to the finish.”

Take a look at Michal Kwiatkowski’s race winning Strava data.

Results of the 2016 E3 Harelbeke

1. Michal KWIATKOWSKI, Team Sky, in 4:55:18
2. Peter SAGAN, Tinkoff Team, at :03
3. Ian STANNARD, Team Sky, at :11
4. Fabian CANCELLARA, Trek–Segafredo, at :11
5. Jasper STUYVEN, Trek–Segafredo, at :11
6. Lars BOOM, Astana Pro Team, at :11
7. Tiesj BENOOT, Lotto Soudal, at :11
8. Sep VANMARCKE, Team Lotto NL – Jumbo, at :11
9. Jean-Pierre DRUCKER, BMC Racing Team, at :11
10. Daniel OSS, BMC Racing Team, at :11


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here