Lizzie Armitstead wins the Women’s Tour of Flanders

Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) is proving to be unstoppable in the Women’s WorldTour winning the Women’s Tour of Flanders from Emma Johansson (Wiggle High5) in a two up sprint. It’s Armitstead’s third win in only five Women’s WorldTour races this year.

Armitstead and Johansson made the race winning move before the final Paterberg climb and with half of the chase group being made up of the duo’s team mates there was little chance they would be caught on the run in to the finish. Armitstead and Johansson slowed in the final 500 metres as they cautiously watched each other not wanting to be caught off guard, the sprint ended in a photo finish with Armitstead winning her first Tour of Flanders.

“I’m delighted but it’s also a big relief,” Armitstead added. “I’ve got that win, that career goal done, and now it’s all about shifting focus. It’s a good way to start putting the spring behind me and thinking about Rio.”

Armitstead leads the Women’s WorldTour again after her Tour of Flanders win with 368 points, Chantal Blaak in second with 343 points and Emma Johansson third on 285 points.

Results of the 2016 Women’s Tour of Flanders

1. Elizabeth ARMITSTEAD, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, in 3:43:27
2. Emma JOHANSSON, Wiggle High5, at :00
3. Chantal BLAAK, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, at :02
4. Megan GUARNIER, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, at :02
5. Elisa LONGO BORGHINI, Wiggle High5, at :02
6. Eleonora VAN DIJK, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, at :02
7. Annemiek VAN VLEUTEN, Orica – GreenEDGE, at :02
8. Pauline FERRAND PREVOT, Raboliv Womens Cycling Team, at :02
9. Claudia LICHTENBERG, Lotto Soudal Ladies, at :02
10. Katarzyna NIEWIADOMA, Raboliv Womens Cycling Team, at :08

Michael Matthew wins Vuelta a la Rioja

Michael Matthews won the Vuelta a la Rioja for a second time in a photo finish from Russian rider Sergei Shilov. Spanish rider Carlos Barbero was third.

Matthews also won the race in 2014 and Caleb Ewan won the race last year for Orica-GreenEdge.

Michael Matthews wins the 2016 Vuelta a la Rioja
Michael Matthews wins the 2016 Vuelta a la Rioja | Photo

Steele Von Hoff 16th at the Volta Limburg Classic

Steele Von Hoff finished 16th at yesterdays Volta Limburg Classic that was won by Floris Gerts, Philippe Gilbert was third.

State of Matter MAAP Racing Announces restructure ahead of 2016 NRS Season

​Ahead of the start of the 2016 National Road series, State of Matter MAAP racing have instituted some major changes to set the team up for a successful 2016 National Road Series (NRS) season.

The team welcomes a number of new behind-the-scenes people to augment an already successful set up.

Renowned rider, DS and Olympic gold medalist Scott McGrory joins the team as the new Director Sportif. He will be ably assisted by long time world tour rider and co DS Jeremy Hunt who will focus on overseas racing and individual rider performances.

Warren Docker steps in as logistics and service course manager. Linda Hunter joins the team as operations manager.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here